Cinnamon Apple Cake! (a recipe from Shelly)

wpid-wp-1445819002238.jpgApple season has started and I picked some up at my local farmer’s market last weekend.  Half got eaten on their own, but I wanted to make something delicious with the last couple!  I came across this recipe from The Baking ChocolaTess and decided to use it as the base, but I made some modifications based on my preferences ;).  Mostly, cutting down the butter and sugar because using a whole stick just didn’t feel right to me.  I also like to use some whole wheat flour in there – it’s not enough to notice, I promise.  And the most important addition…

wpid-wp-1445812941393.jpgCinnamon chips!  They’re basically white chocolate chips with a ton of cinnamon flavor.  I love these, and they only come out around this time of year.  (Actually, I stocked up last year, and this was the last of those :P)

Check below the cut for my version of the recipe!

wpid-wp-1445812948317.jpg
There was almost too much batter for my loaf pan…but no spillage occurred.
wpid-wp-1445812934095.jpg
Appley goodness!

Cinnamon Apple Bread

  • Servings: 6-8
  • Time: 15-20 mins prep + 50-60 mins bake
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print

Adapted from The Baking ChocolaTess.

Apples

  • 2 apples
  • 1-3 tbsp sugar (white or brown)
  • Ground cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves (as desired)

Peel and chop the apples into small chunks.  Layer them in a bowl with the sugar and spices.  You can do this step ahead, like  I did – just add some lemon juice so the apples don’t get brown and wrinkly.

Cake Batter

  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/4 cup (half stick) butter, softened (microwave for 20 sec!)
  • 1-2 tbsp oil (to account for some of the butter I cut out)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour (I used 1 white and 1/2 whole wheat – adjust the ratio to your liking)
  • 1 3/4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 cup milk (I only had cream, so I added a splash of water and it worked just fine.  I’m sure buttermilk would work well too, and there’s a yogurt version mentioned in the original as well.  Someone give this a try with apple cider/juice and report back!)
  • 1/4 package cinnamon chips.  HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!  (or see original post for brown sugar-cinnamon version)
  • Optional:  Glaze described in original post.  I don’t think it needs it, but feel free!
  1. Preheat the oven to 350 (I used 325 for convection.)
  2. Cream the butter and sugar in a medium bowl.
  3. Measure out the dry ingredients into another bowl and mix with a fork.
  4. Beat the eggs (I like to use the measuring cup for this) and stir in the oil and vanilla.  Combine with the butter mixture.
  5. Add the dry bowl to the wet and mix.  Then add the milk and mix until you get a smooth batter.  (Mine was still fairly thick at this point, but turned out fine.)
  6. Grease a loaf pan (or line it with parchment paper – I didn’t do this, but it would make it much easier to take the cake out and slice it.) and add half the batter, spreading it out evenly.  Then add half the apples in an even layer.  Sprinkle cinnamon chips over the apples, pressing them into the gaps.  Be generous 🙂
  7. Repeat the layers.
  8. Bake 50-60 minutes – a knife in the middle should come out clean.
  9. Glaze if desired after the cake cools for 15 min (you may want to remove it from the loaf pan first).  As I said, I don’t think it needs it, but up to you.

Enjoy!!

N.B.  The original post says:  “Baking options: Bake 30-40 min. for 2 loaf recipe, 15-20 minutes for muffins or 50 -60 minutes for one full loaf recipe or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.”

wpid-wp-1445812960830.jpg

Leave a Comment

