Alton Brown’s Mini Peach Upside-down Cake (a recipe review by Shelly)

I’m sure most of you know of Alton Brown, Food Scientist Extraordinaire & Thyme Lord – and if you don’t, maybe this list will convince you?  Recently, he posted an updated version of his peach upside-down cake recipe, and since I had some Georgia peaches from the farmer’s market, I wanted to give it a try!

(Have I mentioned AB lives half an hour from me?  I wonder if I’ll spot him in the city one day…  Until then I’ll have to make do with his local restaurant recs.)

Get the recipe here!
wpid-wp-1435792847150.jpeg

Some Caveats:

  1. I made these just for me, so I halved the recipe.
  2. I didn’t peel my peaches.  It seemed unnecessary, but if you’re making these for others I can see how you might want to.wpid-wp-1435792855025.jpeg
  3. I didn’t have buttermilk, so I used the lemon juice & milk trick – stir a spoon of lemon juice into your milk and let it sit for five minutes or so, to let the milk curdle.  This has been a pretty good replacement for me in the past.
  4. I made mine in the toaster oven, but I had to add a few minutes because I think my ramekins are bigger and had more dough in them.  More on that in a sec…wpid-wp-1435792868962.jpeg
  5. I used something like a 2:1 ratio of whole wheat to white flour, which has usually worked pretty well for me.  (Also, I added cinnamon and nutmeg, because why not?)
    BUT…this is kind of embarrassing.  I completely forgot that Alton Brown likes to measure his baking ingredients by weight, not volume (something that I thought was beaten into my head over many episodes of Good Eats).  So I used (half of) 2.5 CUPS of flour instead of 2.5 OUNCES (not fluid).  Oops.  It turned out to be a good thing I actually forgot to halve the buttermilk (and even needed an extra splash of milk).  So my batter turned out more like a dough, and the sugar ratio was off.  Oh well, I’ll definitely fix that next time…

wpid-wp-1435800123426.jpegThe Verdict:

  1. This was a very simple recipe, and I’m definitely planning to make it again.  I think it could work really well even shrunk down more in a muffin tin.
  2. The peaches were really good in the brown sugar; it was an easy way to get them caramelized.
  3. Since I screwed up the flour, the dough-to-fruit ratio was not the best.  I would’ve liked it better with a double layer of fruit, I think.  But I can’t say for sure until I make it properly!
  4. Even though I messed up, the cake was still pretty moist – just too dense.  So I have hopes for the next time 😉

Did you try this recipe out?  Let us know what you think in the comments!

Leave a Comment

