Vegetable Curry (Japanese-style)

This is a recipe for simple vegetable curry. (tl;dr replace meat with spinach)

To read/ print the recipe, see photos, and enjoy commentary and music reviews, click below!

Vegetable Curry

  • Servings: 4-8
  • Difficulty: Very Easy
  • Print

Ingredients:
Must have:
Box of Japanese curry rue/roux (I prefer the spicier options for this recipe but anything would be fine.)
Spinach (fresh; one bag)
Choose at least 3 of the following (you will want to buy two or three of each of your chosen vegetables):
Onions
Carrots
Red peppers
Eggplants
Mushrooms (at least 8 small mushrooms)
Broccoli (at least one head of fresh broccoli)
Anything else that sounds delicious

Instructions:
1) Dice all of the vegetables into small pieces and put them in a pot
2) Check the back of the curry box to see how much water is needed for the amount of curry you want to make*
3) Add water and boil vegetables until softened
4) Add desired amount of curry rue and boil on low heat (while stirring) until thickened
5) Serve with white rice (or bread)**

*Usually the back of the box lists the amount needed to make the full box of rue, which can feed 2 people for 2-3 meals. If you skip this step and add too much water, you will end up with curry soup. It tastes fine, though. I don’t know what happens if there is too little water. I guess it is just extra thick?
**If you plan to make rice, start cooking it before you start the curry so that they are ready at the same time.

Typical Japanese curry is carrots, onions, potatoes, and chicken, but I love this version of it because A) it is super cheap and super easy, B) you can use literally any vegetable you want, and C) if you make a full box it can feed two people for days. Arguably reason C is true of any curry, but still. The vegetables listed above are just the ones that I have tried, so if you experiment and find something good please let me know in the comments! However, I recommend keeping the spinach because that’s what really makes it. Apologizes to any vegetarians reading this, but I am a serious meat-lover and generally avoid vegetables as much as I can get away with it. When we tried this recipe for the first time at a friend’s place I was shocked by how hearty the taste is even without any chicken, pork, or beef. Childhood me would be appalled.

This is the amount of spinach that I generally buy. Usually I use the whole box of curry rue.

The most important ingredient: spinach

This time I chose carrots, onions, and red peppers because that is what was on sale at the grocery store. (This is usually the deciding factor for me.)

Recently, I’ve been listening to a lot of playlists from the website 8tracks. I don’t have the know-how, time, or energy to make a separate blog for that but I’d like to share my opinions with the world so here you go:
Theme music for chopping vegetables: http://8tracks.com/kaltrarreme/don-t-touch-me
Short mix of female rappers because upbeat music makes cooking more fun.
Rating: 3/5 I’ve said it before, but dancing with a knife is kind of dangerous. Also I like CL but I’m tired of “The Baddest Female” being on every other female rap playlist.

Carrots, onions, and red peppers: chopped and ready!

Apparently you can also eat the stems of the spinach, but I didn’t realize that at the time so the pot looks pretty leafy…
(The reason I didn’t know is that this was my first time making the curry 100% by myself. Usually the boyfriend does 90% of the work.)

After adding the spinach

I must have been really tired when I made this, because for some reason I thought it would be a good idea to add as much water as possible without taking into account the fact that the water would be used for the curry next. The vegetables boiled really well, but the result was a kind of curry soup. Whoops.

Theme music for boiling vegetables: http://8tracks.com/frankensteinbutts/female-rappers
Rating: 4/5 I don’t think I got through the whole playlist (because the food was done before then), but the first half was very enjoyable. It should be pretty obvious based on the title, but this is another mix of female rappers. Some repeats with the first playlist, but out of the two I’d recommend this one.

WHAT NOT TO DO: TOO MUCH WATER!

This time I used this brand of curry. (Kokumaru) The reason was… can you guess? … it was on sale.

こくまろカレー(甘口)
Curry Box
IMG_0671
Finished (kind of) curry soup!

All done and ready to eat! Even though it was soupy, it was pretty good. Next time I make it I’ll update this post with a picture of it at the right thickness.

IMG_0669
Ready to eat~
Leave a Comment

